Etienne Dieuned Noumen
1 min readJul 13, 2021

--

How should a job candidate answer, “What is your salary range?”

  • Let’s talk first about whether I am technically qualified. When you’ve decided I’m the best candidate for this position, you should make me an offer. May I assume you don’t have many candidates turning down your offers because they are too low?
  • That depends on the work, the level of variable compensation and the benefits package. Let’s talk about this later.
  • What’s the salary band for this position? My salary range is/is not within that band.
  • You know the local market better than I do. Let’s say 75th percentile and up for candidates at my experience level in this market.
  • “I don’t have a range since I don’t know your company and what it typically pays people in this position. Can you please share that with me?” Then wait as long as it takes to get an anwer.
  • “I’ve not applied to anything like this at a company like yours so I’d like to know first what the offer range could be so I know whether this is the right match for me.” Then wait as long as it takes to get an answer.
  • If pressed for an actual salary range, then give a broad answer like, “I’d consider moving from my current situation/position for something that offers at least 10+% above my current position’s pay range which is $X – Y.

Source: Quora

--

--

Etienne Dieuned Noumen

Djamga App creator, versed into IT, Engineering and Sports. Djamga App helps people find games, teams, facilities, ref, coaches anywhere. CEO @ DjamgaTech Corp.